The Dark Tower (Game from 1981)

So raise your hand if you remember this game:

The Dark Tower

The Dark Tower

See The Dark Tower Commercial here.

*I just love Orson W, don’t you?!?!*  I know he probably doesn’t consider this Milton Bradley ad to be the highlight of his career (::whisper:: Rosebud…) BUT, I can’t help but be a bit excited when my alter egos collide (game girl + film aficionado + child of the 80s).  KABAMMM!  The Dark Tower.  No not Stephen King (as much as I adore SK, this is a completely different Dark Tower).

And No, I didn’t own this game but I do remember putting it on SEVERAL Christmas wish lists, birthday pleas, and I think I even tried saving up for it at one point but when you make $2/hr at babysitting every other weekend, it’s slow going.  (Days before real employment were tough, man.  Crap, who’m I kiddin’ days of REAL employment are hard too.  One gets by the best one can).  Anyway, back to The Dark Tower.

Sorcerers.  Fantasy.  Electronic talking tower. Ohhhhhhh yeaaah!

If you owned (or currently own) this game then you know what I’m talking about.  Hell yes, it’s cheesy.  But if you had this as a kid, you know it was freaking awesome.  I’m on a HUGE board game kick these days.  And I’m always on the prowl for a good vintage board game.  Right now, the most vintage game I own is Monster Mash 1970something (hahahahaha, please stop teasing me now).  And maybe my 1980 version of Clue that I used to play by myself because I could never get anyone over to play with me (cue tiny violins).  However, this was how I knew I was destined to be a gamer-geek someday.  Proud, proud memories.

Currently,  My husband and I are in the middle of converting our teeny family room into a bona fide GAME ROOM.  Imagine, if you will, the 2nd hand sofa getting tossed curbside for a gorgeous gaming table.  Geek Chic tables (lusty sigh) are on my wish list but I doubt I can afford such amazing bling.  I did find a local woodworking artisan who makes amazing custom furniture – and he’s knowledgeable about gaming so – SCORE one for Tammy – this Game Room is going to KICK butt!  Future blog to come, I’m sure!

But back to vintage games.  If you own this bad boy (The Dark Tower) then you know that it is hard to find, especially in working order.  eBay has it for around $250 (I kid you not!).  So, if you have one of these games, I know a gaming family who would love to take it off your hands.  <shameless plug> We’d also be interested in Mission: Red Planet if you have that lying around too! </Shameless plug>  Chat me up, if you happen to know someone who knows someone who knows someone….

Until then, let me know more about your favorite board games of the 80s in the comments below.  And enjoy this YouTube great featuring four drunk dudes playing The Dark Tower…

~ by absurdjellyfish on April 5, 2013.

3 Responses to “The Dark Tower (Game from 1981)”

  1. Mission: red planet is great! Winners discount stores had the for $6-12 a few years back and I gave it to about 5 people for Christmas. As for the 80’s, I recommend Dune and Survive!; I also have a soft spot for Lost Treasure.

    • Lost Treasure was fun! My neighbor had it, we had to play it with three missing parts which always messed up the game, but we loved to play that and Stop Theif! I just remembered another favorite game I had at the time called “Jaws” with the real shard that had real garbage in it’s mouth and you had to fish it out before he chomped you! Extremely lacking in a mental challenge, but novel all the same! Wow, Mission Red Planet for 6-12 bucks. That is a GREAT deal. Right now I’m looking at $90+ (ouch!)

    • Oh man, I finally got my hands on a copy of Mission Red Planet — I LOVE it!

Leave a comment