This week in history – 1989

Ah, 1989.  The last hurrah of the decade that was the 80s.  Teased hair and spandex were making an exit (slowly) and grunge and plaid were queuing up to make a grand debut.  By the end of the year we’d see the Berlin wall tumble down – amazing really.  As a kid I never expected the cold war to end.  But in June, I was enjoying my first full summer living on my own in Denver.  I’d completed my first year of two at the Art Institute.  I had an amazing array of friends, and I got back in touch with an old high school buddy, my BFF Chris, who had moved to Chicago and returned home.

It was one of those years that didn’t really feel special, but when you look back on it – a lot of stuff happened that formed the future me.  I met my first long term boyfriend that fall.  He wasn’t meant to be (thank god for both of us) but I learned a lot about love and relationships.  I learned about money and how unfriendly collection agencies are when you bounce a check or two.  I got my first real job (the video clerk position mentioned in a post earlier this year).  And I met Ian Astbury from The Cult.

(Come on now, did the goth scene ever really die?)

What else was going on this week in June of 1989?  Let’s see…

Tim Burton’s noir-esque version of the movie Batman starring Michael Keaton was released on the 23rd.  Hyped as a summer blockbuster, it still raises heated debates over how good or bad it is depending on the type of comic book lover you are, especially with peeps that I know.  It’s definitely not my favorite Burton film, nor it is my favorite super hero movie (thanks to my husbands influence Marvel trumps DC in my world) but at the time I watched that film more times than I can count on both hands!

Satisfied by Richard Marx was the top song on the Billbaord charts. (???)

Quantum Leap and COPS were top TV viewing (note: Simpsons will debut later this year – in December – amazing that now it’s my kiddos favorite go to junk food TV program).

And Halliday uses the 1989 classic set from the movie Heathers in part in Anorak’s Invitation

His surroundings are actually from a scene in the 1989 film Heathers.  Halliday appears to have digitally re-created the funeral parlor set and then inserted himself into it. – from Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Hope your having a great summer!

~ by absurdjellyfish on June 27, 2013.

Leave a comment